Mission…

(Friends, just after I hit send, I found this article I had written that is a much better presentation of the information in the last blog post. It references the same Marino Restrepo video.)

“But this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, says the Lord: I will put my law within them, and I will write it on their hearts; and I will be their God and they shall be my people.” (Jeremiah 31:33)

I used to have a Bible on CD-ROM which allowed me to search for words or phrases. Once I looked up the phrase, “and I will be their God.” I was amazed at how many times it occurs in Scripture.[1] This testifies to the deep longing of God’s heart to be in covenant with his people.

The Old Testament readings of the first few Sundays of Lent give us an overview of God’s covenant plan for fallen humanity. With Noah we marvel at the rainbow that signifies God’s commitment to a covenant relationship with his children. With Abraham we rejoice at God’s promise that it will be an everlasting covenant. With Moses we receive the commandments of God, etching his laws on our hearts as he etched them on the tablets for Moses.

God’s promises to Noah, Abraham and Isaac culminate in Christ. It pleased God to enter into a New Covenant with his children by sending his only beloved Son to the earth to seal the “new and everlasting covenant” in his blood. The generations that have followed Christ have entered into this covenant relationship with him through the sacrament of baptism. We renew this covenant each time we celebrate the Eucharist. This covenant relationship demands a response. It is a call to discipleship.

Recently I watched a YouTube video[2] of Marino Restrepo speaking on our calling as a Eucharistic people. If you have not heard of Marino Restrepo, or heard any of his talks, you are missing something! I encourage you to search his talks on YouTube. Marino was a worldly person, very far from God. He lived in California and was involved in a great many practices that were offensive to God. One Christmas when he went home to Colombia for a family visit, he was kidnapped by rebels. He spent months in the jungle, and at his lowest point, God revealed himself to him, illuminated his conscience, and called him to conversion. Now Marino speaks all over the world about his experiences and has been given remarkable insights into our times, and what we are called to as Catholic Christians.

In the video I watched recently Marino explained that the highest calling of a Catholic is to be a Eucharistic warrior, to feed humanity through frequent reception of the Eucharist and through adoration. Merely receiving the Eucharist or adoring Christ in the tabernacle increases the love of Christ in the world and enhances the grace of humanity. I once felt the Lord give me this prayer for after Communion: “Your Body in my body, your Blood in my veins, your love in my heart.” If we “do” nothing else in our entire lives but receive the Eucharist daily, we are, like Mary, “choosing the better part.” We are enabling the unseen power of Christ to act through us. As Marino puts it: we are “armed and dangerous”.

This, of course, does not sit well with the enemy. He creates all manner of diversions, distractions, and entertainments to draw us away from our Eucharistic mission. He knows that each Communion received is a vast defeat for him.

How important to remain focused on our mission, to reflect on our covenant relationship with God in the Eucharist so that we will be his people and he will be our God. That is God’s promise to all his children: deeper union, a blending of the wills, a sharing in his power—the power of perfect love.

[1]  (*Gen 17:8; Ez 11:20, 14:11, 37:23, 37:27; Zech 8:8; Jer 24:7, 31:33, 32:38; Heb 8:10; 2 Cor 6:16)

[2] http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nTmjf2P1Sjo&feature=related

 

 

One response

  1. Thank you!! It was so wonderful to hear Marino speak. I felt a rush in my heart of such a joy that Our dear Lord has so simplified all this for us and for the world and yet, why why why do so many not come to the feast!!! In my own family it’s heartbreaking yet I am grateful to Jesus for His Divine Mercy in all this!! We are called to become a living Monstrance! If only we don’t forget and continue in faithfulness !
    Thank you again this was soooo perfect!!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

