Misplaced hope…

Colossians 1: 12-20 Brothers and sisters: Give thanks to the Father, who has enabled you to share in the inheritance of the saints in the light. He has rescued us from the power of darkness and transferred us into the kingdom of his beloved Son, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins. 

He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of all creation; for in him all things in heaven and on earth were created, things visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or powers—all things have been created through him and for him. He himself is before all things, and in him all things hold together. He is the head of the body, the church; he is the beginning, the firstborn from the dead, so that he might come to have first place in everything. For in him all the fullness of God was pleased to dwell, and through him God was pleased to reconcile to himself all things, whether on earth or in heaven, by making peace through the blood of his cross.

I have found throughout my life that the Holy Spirit teaches in themes. I love that He does that. We come across something that speaks to us, and then some unrelated source confirms it and the lesson continues through a series of seemingly unrelated experiences. When that happens, I have learned that it is time to pay attention.

One of my recent articles was on the power of detachment. I thought it was a stand-alone piece, but the Holy Spirit’s lesson was not complete. Since then He has been expanding the lesson. There are nuances to the virtue of surrender to the will of God. We can be surrendered with resignation or with anticipation. In other words, we can be resigned to the will of God, or we can anticipate the ways that God will be glorified in our current situation, whatever the outcome. The second method is decidedly more joyful and fruitful than the first!

When we surrender with resignation, we are still pining for what was lost, namely our own control over the outcome of events. When we surrender with anticipation and joy, we are affirming our belief in God’s goodness, power, mercy, and love. In the last article, I quoted Archbishop Sheen:

“Once you realize that God is your end, you are not disappointed, for you put no more hope in things than they can bear. You cease looking for first-rate joys where there are only tenth-rate pleasures.”

It is important to cultivate this sense of anticipation so we do not slip into misplaced hope. The above reading from Colossians gives us all the reason for hope we need in any situation—Jesus is Lord! In my last article, I told you about an image of myself throwing my arms around Jesus’ chest, and about my friend telling me that when I do that, Jesus has my back. That is a beautiful image on its own. However, at first I was throwing my arms around Jesus in desperation to escape an earthly circumstance. What I now realize is that I need to do that as one filled with gratitude for all that God is doing for me in this situation and in my life as a whole. I can’t see the big picture, but He can. Instead of placing my hope in people or earthly outcomes, I must remember to place all my hope and trust only in God—which is the core message of Divine Mercy. It should also be the attitude of one who seeks to live only and always in the Divine Will.

Now, whenever I feel some anxiety about a situation, I will try to remember to pray something like this: “O beloved Jesus, I love you, I trust you, I surrender myself joyfully to your loving, perfect will for me and mine. I can’t wait to see how you will be glorified in this situation, even if it takes until eternity! Thank you! I praise you and pray for the highest good of all involved. May your name be praised, O Lord, forever!” What I have found is that in praying this way my anxiety level drops immediately, even fully comprehending that the outcome will likely not be what I expect or desire. It is a prayer of surrender and trust to the will of God, the only thing worthy of our trust, the only sure hope that we have.

If we are feeling anxious about something, we need to examine where we are placing our hope. If it is in anything but God’s holy Will and God’s outcomes, we are in for a rough ride.

I recently listened to one of Fr. Robert Young’s Divine Will broadcasts on Radio Maria, in which he expounded on Volume 19 of Luisa’s writings, specifically the entry from September 13, 1926. In that section our Lord laments that there are so few souls sacrificing their lives and beseeching God that the Kingdom of the Divine Fiat would come to reign over the earth. The Redeemer was called to earth the first time by the prayers, sighs, tears and penances of the patriarchs, prophets and all the good people of the Old Testament. If they had not sacrificed and beseeched the Lord fervently and persistently, the Virgin Queen, perfect vessel of the Divine Will, would not have come, and the Divine Justice would not have granted the descent of the longed-for Redeemer to the level of the creature.

Those of us who are longing for the coming of the Kingdom of the Divine Will—and we all should be longing for an end to this evil age—must at every opportunity surrender our every moment to the Lord, in the Divine Will, with a sigh of deep longing that His Kingdom may come and come quickly! The Lord is beseeching us to beseech Him to establish the reign of the Divine Will on earth. Let us not delay, but in the Divine Will make our supplications, sighs, beseechings, yearnings, longings, desires, hungers, thirsts, and prayers—our every act, breath and heartbeat—full of the yearnings of Queen of the Divine Will calling down the Savior once more. May our persistent fervor, in the Divine Will, bear glorious fruit in the Triumph of the Immaculate Heart of Mary. Now that is a first-rate joy! Amen.


 

From my other blog, https://pelianitoblog.wordpress.com

Jeremiah 9: 6-7 Oppression upon oppression, deceit upon deceit! They refuse to know me, says the Lord. Therefore, thus says the Lord of hosts: I will now refine and test them, for what else can I do with my sinful people?

“Oh my beloved, what sorrow is coming to sinful humanity, but what joy as well! Remember this when the hour is dark, when you feel the crushing weight upon you that sin has purchased: that the measure of joy which follows the sorrow will be so much greater as to render the sorrow a distant memory. Just as you will not be able to imagine joy in the deepest darkness, so too when the darkness is banished, will you be unable to imagine such depths of sorrow. Children, when the Healer binds your wounds, he does it so completely as to banish the pain even from memory! Yes, I am making all things new! Cling to hope with joy, my children. I have come that my joy may be in you and your joy may be complete. Live my will in each moment, dear children, and be at peace. Shalom.”

O my Jesus, what hope! What joy to anticipate so glorious a day as the day you come to deliver us from darkness and bind our wounds. Jesus in your mercy, keep us from despair. Help us to cling to you with an act of the will, even when we cannot feel your presence. Help us cling to you in the rosary. Jesus and Mary we trust in you! Take care of everything! Amen.

Matthew 1:17 So all the generations from Abraham to David are fourteen generations; and from David to the deportation to Babylon, fourteen generations; and from the deportation to Babylon to the Messiah, fourteen generations.

“My beloved, do you see how intricately the plan of salvation has been drawn up? No detail has been left out. My plans are perfect and are in perfect balance; the end result will be perfection. Then do not doubt and do not fear, but hasten its fulfillment by making more fervent prayers and sacrifices. Within the perfect plan of God stands the imperfect human soul. Just as in the genealogy of the Messiah there were a multitude of imperfect human souls, yet they did not spoil the plan of God. So too, the imperfection of all humans from the time of the Messiah to now are not capable of derailing the perfect plan of God. All the imperfections of all humans put together are but a drop in the infinite ocean of my perfection. Do not despair, but the darker the days become, remember that infinite ocean of perfection and be consoled. My children—pray! I am near and where I am, perfection also dwells. Shalom, my children. Be consoled in the perfection of my birth.”

O my Jesus, in the Divine Will I place my I love you and I thank you and I praise you in your perfections. Your mercy is beyond imagining. May this Christmas bring many souls back to your perfect embrace. Infant King, may you reign on earth as in heaven. Fiat! Amen.

4 responses

  1. Thank you Janet!!! I continue to be blessed by your writings! They are always filled with words of wisdom & consolation for the journey!
    I love Fr. Robert’s program each week! He has been a great source of inspiration
    & help in understanding Jesus’ teachings on the Divine Will.
    How very BLESSED we are! Thank you, my dear sister in Christ!

    Like

  2. Janet, I don’t think I’m getting all your posts. As I look at your site there are some I haven’t received! I so look forward to each one. Not sure if it’s a problem on my end or something on yours. Thank you so much!!

    Carol Vaughan Father, Thy Will be done on earth as It is in Heaven!

    >

    Liked by 1 person

    • Check your spam/junk folder Carol. I have no control over the subscription process. If you are having problems, it is likely a filter at your end because they are mass mailouts. You could also check with WordPress.

      Like

  3. Fiat! Heavenly Father, please keep all things past, present and future in your Most Holy and Pure Divine Will….help us and love us! Margaret+💒

    On Sun, Nov 6, 2016 at 10:52 PM, The Joy of Penance wrote:

    > Janet Klasson posted: “Colossians 1: 12-20 Brothers and sisters: Give > thanks to the Father, who has enabled you to share in the inheritance of > the saints in the light. He has rescued us from the power of darkness and > transferred us into the kingdom of his beloved Son, in whom w” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

