Humility and confidence…

Volume 2, April 3, 1899

Jesus to Luisa: “If you knew how much I like humility… Humility is the littlest plant that can be found, but its branches are so high as to reach Heaven, wind their way around my throne, and penetrate deep into my Heart. This little plant is humility, and the branches which this plant produces, are confidence; so, there cannot be true humility without confidence. Humility without confidence is false virtue.” (L. Piccarreta, Book of Heaven, Volume 2, April 3, 1899)

In other words, in true humility we acknowledge our nothingness and rely only on Jesus; in Him alone is our confidence. So let us embrace our nothingness, trusting that God’s strength is made perfect in weakness.

On a similar theme, Fr. Mark Goring has recently put out two videos in which he highlights two excerpts from Sr. Emmanuel Maillard’s book on St. Maryam of Bethlehem, who was canonized in 2015. These little videos, each less than five minutes long can really help us navigate the rough waters that surround us. Stay the course, dear friends, stay in the safe harbor of the Divine Will. Fiat!

Mystic Reveals What the Devil is Like

What Makes Satan Fear You

7 thoughts on “Humility and confidence…

  1. I heard Fr. Ripperger say in a talk a while back to ask our holy guardian angel to humiliate us so I took him up on it and every morning with my guardian angel prayer I add “humiliate me in my interactions each day”. Boy did he take me seriously! I notice almost every day something that is pointed out to me to work on!

    1. A courageous prayer for sure! And one that undoubtedly bears fruit. In the Divine Will, we go beyond humility into nothingness. We must disappear to give Him room to work. Nothingness means we never think of ourselves only of Him. In ordinary (for lack of a better word) humility there is still something of self. I like the way Frances Hogan teaches on this but I can’t remember which talks. She often comes back to it. It is interesting to read the early Volumes and see how this progressed in Luisa. It took 18 Volumes and 4 spiritual marriages before the Divine Will was completely actualized in her. Wow.

      Lord, you must do this in us, because it is impossible for us. Fiat!

      1. Yes, I have been listening to Ms. Hogan’s talks. I love this realization of nothingness. God created out of nothing so we, in our confident nothingness can, with our fusing into Him, become whatever He wishes.
        Fiat!

Leave a comment